PDA

View Full Version : 4 HP LJ4200s all acting up

bobbydiaz
11-23-2005, 10:23 AM
We have 3 HP LJ4200s out in different departments on the ground floor here at my work. They all started printing kind of speckled, its like just what is supposed to print is speckled only. The papers come out clean but the lines are kind of chopped. I have tried replacing the dc controller, fuser, toner, paper and rollers. Nothing has helped it. we put the 4th 4200 down there and now its doing the samething as the others. I work in a hospital and these printers have worked great for the last year or 2. This is something that just happened recently. Any help is appreciated.

ptjeff1
11-24-2005, 07:05 AM
Did you replace the transfer roller? If so was it an aftermarket transfer roller? Some aftermarket transfer rollers can cause strange image defects. Also are the toners new or refilled?

JJprinter
12-06-2005, 12:24 PM
Are all these printers on a network or stand alone and still print the same???

If they are not networked then I would agree check to see if you have OEM cartridges or recycled it could be the supplies from a recycler and the toner is not correct for this cartidge or a part they replaced in these cartridges has been changed since you first ordered from this recycler and the company does not realize it is causing you poor print.
If you are networked this could also be a server problem.
But I am leaning more to the cartridges.

bobbydiaz
12-14-2005, 09:46 AM
Did you replace the transfer roller? If so was it an aftermarket transfer roller? Some aftermarket transfer rollers can cause strange image defects. Also are the toners new or refilled?

We did full maintenance kits on these printers.

Are all these printers on a network or stand alone and still print the same???

They were all networked printers, but stand alone or networked they all do the same thing.