PDA

View Full Version : LaserJet 4000 - Noises, Multifeeding

napprox
03-07-2007, 03:29 PM
Greetings,

I'm new to this whole not calling a repair guy for your printer thing, so I apologize if these are questions with obvious answers.

The LJ 4000 in the office I recently took a position in is about 9 years old. It has a little over 205,000 pages printed in that period of time, and maintenance has never been performed on it.

When you turn it on, and whenever it prints, it squeeks. This seems to be comming from the fuser assembly. I say this because I took the fuser assembly out, turned on the printer and the noise stopped. Would replacing the fuser pretty much swap out all of the moving parts on this and therefor stop the squeeking? Also, the printer still prints well so the fuser, squeeking aside, is still kicking. Would it be possible to oil the gears or something to stop the noise? If so, can somebody recommend some oil for this?

The printer is also multifeeding through tray 1, every so often tray 2. From what i've read, this always points to worn down pickup rollers and seperation arms/rollers. Is this always the case, or are there other possible causes?

Also, it sometimes "moans" when feeding out of tray 2 ... anythoughts on this?

Once again, I'd like to apologize if these are questions with obvious answers or if I've broken some sort of forum rule of etiquette. I'm working for a non-profit clinic and am new to printer repair. As such, I'm hesitant to spend a couple hundred bucks on a maintenance kit if it is not going to get this printer functioning correctly again.

Thank you for your time

Cwest
03-07-2007, 05:29 PM
It sounds like you need a full maintanence kit for the printer. The fuser has a life of 200,000 pages. The manual tray sounds like its rollers are very worn. I do not know about the squeaking sound coming from tray 2 though.

Brian
03-08-2007, 09:04 AM