PDA

View Full Version : Laserjet 4000 Error

Grancyanne
02-05-2007, 07:33 PM
The error message on my Laserjet 4000 says 22 Parallel I/O buffer overflow and the printing is random, spaces not printed, printing off center or most often huge printing
I don't see an error message 22 listed on the error message list.
Do you know what I need?
Thanks for your help.:confused:

If it is a memory problem, is that something I can add myself? I am NOT a mechanic.

redcow
02-05-2007, 07:40 PM
What are you printing when this happens?

Try printing a different application. Type a few words in Word or whatever your word processor is and see if that prints.

I don't think that you have enough memory to handle that print job.

Grancyanne
02-05-2007, 07:50 PM
Thanks for quick response. I did print something from word and it printed okay. I tried to print from this website and got a couple of lines of junk on each page.
The program I usually print from is a court reporting program and I have been using the same software for years but this problem started all of a sudden. That's why I don't understand it being a memory thing.

But when I printed from this page the word "PrinterTech" at the top of the page came out so big that only part of the word fit on the page. Is there some sort of setting that I have screwed up on the printer?

MichaelTech
02-06-2007, 08:51 AM
You may be using a Postscript driver. Check the printer properties.
Re-seat the firmware dimm, and try another cable to the parallel connection.
At worst, the formatter may be going bad.

gowestover
02-06-2007, 09:15 AM
I agree with redcow in that it sounds like a memory problem. I've seen this most often in older printers like a Laserjet 4000, in which the print job in question is "graphic intensive", such as a pdf document or a Powerpoint presentation with a lot of graphics.