Thread: Advice on Starting Printer Repair

Default Advice on Starting Printer Repair

I Know that printer tech was started by technicians. I am a copier/printer tech and have been think about starting my own operation. I wanted to get some advice on how to go about getting started.

where can I get hp training?

Thanks for the help.

mdm

Red face

The only way to get HP or any manufacturer training for that matter is to work for a manufacturer's ASP company and get them to send you to training. In the one year I worked for HP, they sent me twice to Dallas TX, and once to Chicago for a week at a time for training. It was great.
    When I worked for Unisys, they sent me to Dell training in Chicago for a week.

Paul@justmanuals.com

I have a friend who's into this business of printer repair he is self-taught and then there is a certain event on our area where he join the competition for Samsung technician and he won suprisingly. He got an award and now he's a regular technician and has his own repair station.

Quote Originally Posted by ricky315 View Post
    I have a friend who's into this business of printer repair he is self-taught and then there is a certain event on our area where he join the competition for Samsung technician and he won suprisingly. He got an award and now he's a regular technician and has his own repair station.
    Thats how I started in 2001, most senior techs here learnt with the school of hard knocks, one technician named Moe in Califorina learnt printer repair from just working out how to take them apart and learning how each componet works and such, this is valuble information when it goes to troubleshooting the machine.

Here is my method of troubleshooting:

• Firstly you need to isolate where the problem is.
    • Like which componet is causing the problem.
    • most of the time the printer if you can switch it on and powers up,
    • Sometimes it will tell you what is wrong.