PDA

View Full Version : Half Self-Test

annectent
10-26-2006, 02:12 PM
I'm fairly new to understanding laser printers.
In part of a training course for the A+ certification, it asks a question about what kind of test would show the condition of the pickup rollers, the registration rollers, the laser scanner, charging roller, the EP drum and the transfer roller to see if they're working correctly.
The answer is a "Half Self-Test".
I have an HP 4V. I looked in the Service Menu and the Test Menu and can't find this specific test.
Is this something that's an option on a HP 4V or is there another test that it does perform that will accomplish the same thing?

Thanks

redcow
10-26-2006, 05:13 PM
I work on a lot of different laser printers and I have yet to see anything called "half self test".

Besides, I could probably stick a bad roller(feed, pick, transfer you pick it) and the printer would probably work, maybe not consistantly, but maybe just for that self test that you are running.

That being said, I would probably run "self test"(the whole one) with the continuous option. 20 sheets should tell you if its going to fail.

Strider
10-27-2006, 10:17 AM
The "half self-test"is where you run a self test and stop the paper before it enters the fuser.By looking at the unfused page and the remaining image on the drum,you can narrow down the possible problems with such things as transfer,wrinkling and print quality issues.

BirdShot
11-06-2006, 09:50 AM
Just to follow what Strider said - you would run a test page and when you think the sheet has made it approx. halfway through print engine, you'd stop the printing by openning a door.

BS

chetan
11-07-2006, 07:05 AM
Follow "Strider". he is right.

ptjeff1
11-27-2006, 09:34 AM